Wither by Lauren DeStefano

NOTE: I am changing the name of my “Fast Five” that I use to catch up on my backlog. I think it could be argued that on a good day, what I write about books does not qualify as a true review. When I post five fast thoughts, that really isn’t a review. So these will now be titled “Fast Five View.”

Wither by Lauren DeStefano. Published by Simon and Schuster. Read in March, 2011. ARC provided by publisher at ALA Midwinter.

A Fast Five View:

1. I thought this was a unique take on a dystopian novel. Really hooked on the scientific mystery of their life span!

2. With several other recent YA books that dealt with polygamy in a contemporary setting, I thought Ms. DeStefano addressed polygamy in a new, interesting, yet relevant way.

3. The setting is sooooooooo creepy. The house, the grounds, the weather – well done!

4. I think the cover is gorgeous and so eye-catching. I do think, though, that it will prohibit boys from picking it up, and I think that the book could have some appeal to boy readers because of the book’s setting.

5. I can’t wait to read the rest of the series, and I have so many characters I want to know about beyond just Rhine, the main character!

2 Comments

Filed under Fast Five View, young adult lit

2 responses to “Wither by Lauren DeStefano

  1. Pingback: thechemicalgardentrilogy.com » Dog Eared and Well Read gives a Fast 5 Review

  2. Loved this book! One of my favorite series going right now. I’m looking forward to Fever.

Leave a Reply

