Odds and Ends to Kick Off Summer

My summer break officially began today. I’ve gotten very behind in posting but now that summer is here, I should catch up in no time! I’ll start off today with some short notes:

  • I did see Up in 3D and it is fantastic! I highly recommend it for everyone. The dog, Dug, is my favorite part, but I might be biased since he reminded me of my dog (up in the masthead). The short story of Carl’s marriage at the beginning is beautiful. Bring tissues – I was crying halfway through it. The movie is about among other things, learning to move on, and be loved, and how you can have fun no matter where you are if you are with people you love, which is a lesson I think a lot of people can always stand to re-learn. Up is funny and heartwarming and made me cry a few times. It’s the best movie I have seen this year and I will be awfully sad if it isn’t a contender for Best Picture, despite the fact that it’s an animated film. Definitely one of my favorite Pixar movies.
  • Reading Challenge current standings: I finished the 2009 YA Challenge, and have read 6 of the 11 books needed for the V. C. Andrews challenge. This Sunday starts Infinite Summer, which I guess could be classified as a reading challenge. I’m hoping that I can keep up with the page deadlines for it and still read other stuff along the way, but we’ll see how that goes.
  • My summer TBR pile is growing and growing. I brought home a stack of books from school to catch up on, along with a huge stack of professional journals that I got behind on this year. I already have a stack of books checked out from the public library. I made a list off the top of my head of what I actually want to read, and it’s already a page long! Between this list and Infinite Jest, and other projects in my non-reading life, I guess it’s going to be a busy 2 months!

Regular posting should resume in the next day or so. I have posts coming on The 19th Wife, Handle With Care, The School for Dangerous Girls, and Same Difference.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Odds and Ends to Kick Off Summer

  1. Pingback: Up on DVD Today! « Dog-eared and Well-read

Leave a Reply

