Cover revealed for Susan Beth Pfeffer’s newest!

One of my favorite books that I read last year was Life As We Knew It. It is truly awesome and I will never stop singing its praises. Susan Beth Pfeffer has a third book in the series (I believe it is just going to be a trilogy) coming out in April called This World We Live In and she posted the cover on her blog. The covers for these books are gorgeous. If I could buy versions suitable to use as art, I would totally hang them up in my library at work or in my home library. That ever present moon is gorgeous yet terrifying. The covers do reveal information about the story, and seeing this cover stokes the flames of my curiosity.

If you have not read these books, I cannot recommend them enough. They are the right mix of apocalyptic-sci-fi and teenage-growing-up-when-faced-with-serious-reality that can appeal to a wide variety of readers. In the beginning of Life As We Knew It, there is a meteor (asteroid?) headed towards the moon. People gather to watch it, not realizing how much their lives are about to change. The meteor is SO LARGE, it knocks the moon closer to Earth, thus affecting the tides and weather and gravity. At first, everyone tries to continue on with life as they knew it before the moon incident, but that doesn’t always go according to plan.

The second in the series, The Dead and The Gone, is set in NYC. The main character in this one is less aware of the impending moon/meteor collision, thus he is even more surprised about the effects of it. Both books haunted me for days after I read them, and I still have moments where I am startled at the site of a full moon as it brings memories flooding back.

April is a long time to wait, but I am already excited!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

