Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick – review and contest

Hush, Hush

In Becca Fitzpatrick’s debut novel, Hush, Hush, Nora Grey is a sophomore, trying to focus on school work and move past the death of her father. Her focus is shaken when her Biology teacher switches lab partners around. Her best friend Vee has to give up her seat to the quiet transfer student in the class, Patch. The first assignment is to get to know their new lab partner better. While Patch seems to know enough about Nora to make her a bit uncomfortable, he dodges every question she throws at him. His familiarity with her freaks her out, but Nora can’t help but be drawn into his easy smiles.

A hooded figure is following Nora around town, and weird things keep happening – accidents that she swears she experiences but then every trace of it is erased. Is she going crazy? Is the hooded person Patch or someone else? People begin to warn her to stay away from Patch; they think he’s dangerous and his mysterious past doesn’t do anything to disprove their theories. When Vee is attacked by someone who mistakes her for Nora, she realizes that the danger lurking around her is growing. Despite the warnings, Nora continues to find herself spending time with Patch, falling for him. Is she falling in love, or risking her life?

I was torn about this book for the first half of it. I kept getting frustrated with Nora – she is supposed to be a smart, serious girl, but she keeps making stupid choices. For example, when she and Vee split up to try to trap the person following Nora, they decide to meet in a deserted cemetery, rather than just down the street. Despite my frustration, I couldn’t put the book down. I needed to know what was going to happen. The plot moves along at a fast pace. Every time I told myself I would stop at the end of the chapter, the end would force me to keep turning the pages. The characters are great. Nora is likable, Vee is a hilarious best friend, and as Nora grew closer to Patch, I found my stomach doing flip-flops when he’d smile or flirt with her. Patch is adorable. He’s quick with a smile, witty, and sexy. Love, love, love Patch.

I was left with some minor questions. I do not know if they will be addressed in the sequel or if I was just reading too far into things. Among others, why does Patch always seem to be wearing a hat? Does Nora’s dad’s death have anything to do with the danger surrounding her life? But these questions didn’t impede my enjoyment of the book.

I can’t wait for Hush, Hush to come out. With its easy appeal to fans of the supernatural and romance, I think it is going to be popular  – can you resist that cover? – and will inevitably be compared to Twilight. I honestly prefer Patch and his smiles over emo Edward any day. Another reason I can’t wait for the release – Becca Fitzpatrick has stated on her blog that the book will have a different, top secret ending than what is in the ARC. October 13th is so far away! Ms. Fitzpatrick can also be found on her website.

Ms. Fitzpatrick won me over before I even started reading the book as her bio mentions that she grew up reading Trixie Belden and Nancy Drew. I was never a Drew fan, but I love my Trixie! At one point, Nora and Vee discuss their sleuthing skills, which totally reminded me of Trixie and Honey. When I was reading the mention that Nora drives a Fiat Spider, I thought maybe this was a car Nancy Drew drove and thus a shout out to her. After further research, I discovered I was wrong and that the Wakefield twins drove one in Sweet Valley High. I don’t know if this was just a coincidence or not. I will always love a fellow Trixie Belden fan, though.

4 stars

*******************************************************

Thanks to Simon and Schuster, I have one ARC of Hush, Hush to give away. The contest will run from today, August 5th through Wednesday, August 19th at 5 pm. Leave a comment on this post for one entry. You can get one additional entry for each place you post about this contest, such as your blog or Twitter. Please leave links to where these are so I can keep track of how many entries you get. ALSO, please provide a way I can reach you if you win – email, etc. Good luck!

42 Comments

Filed under review, young adult lit

42 responses to “Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick – review and contest

  1. Cool! Great review, I would love to join into this contest!!

    I added this contest to my new blog for contests.

    http://wdebocontestfinds.blogspot.com/

    and I’m also going to add it to my sidebar.

    theelectricalbookcafe.blogspot.com

    Thanks!

    Wdebo 🙂

    electricalbookcafe@yahoo.com

  2. Ban

    ooooo yay, a chance to win an ARC – count me in !!!

  3. I’ve got you in a couple of places! *smile*

    http://smblooding.blogspot.com/2009/08/workshops-getting-and-staying-pumped.html

    http://smblooding.webs.com/apps/blog/

    http://www.writing.com/main/books/item_id/987608

    I don’t know how to let you see the Tweet I Twitted or however it’s called. *biting lip* But I’m SMBlooding at Twitter and Twitted or Tweet’d or whatever. LOL!!!

    smblooding@yahoo.com

  4. pepsivanilla

    Oh, yes please! This book looks so awesome 🙂

    pepsivanilla14(at)hotmail(dot)com

  5. Sylvia

    Great review!! It makes me just want to read the book more! I would love to enter, I hope I win:) Thanks!!

  6. Nice review – I’ve been DYING to read this book!! Please enter me

  7. Yay! I love giveaways, and I’m stoked about this book … especially since the ARC has a different ending!

  8. Nikki

    Awesome!! I can’t wait for this book. Count me in for the contest 😀

    I also tweeted about it http://twitter.com/Nikkayme/status/3275065605

    Thanks!
    iheartpinguinos@hotmail.com

  9. Hush, Hush sounds wonderful! I really want this ARC!
    Okay here’s the links:
    Twitter: http://twitter.com/WonderGirl12

    My facebook: http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#/lauren.a.wilson2?ref=profile

    My blog (sidebar): http://theherethenowandthebooks.blogspot.com/

    contact me: readergirl321@aol.com

    really hope I win!!!! Thanks for the contest!

  10. Count me IN!

    nickiheart16 [@] aim [.] com

  11. I must have this arc! I am too impatient to wait – the cover is so gorgeous!

  12. Emma

    awesome! I’m in

    emmamelerojuarez(at)yahoo(dot)com

  13. Pingback: Hush, Hush Arc Giveaway! « Par hasard à un rêve

  14. Great review!!! Ooh that cover is amazing and I really really want this book!

    Okay, here’s the links:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/angelknowsbest

    WordPress blog:http://fortheloveofmywords.wordpress.com/

    Blogspot blog: http://realityisamuse.blogspot.com/

    And here’s my email address:

    lyricalraven(at)yahoo(dot)com

  15. andie

    I agree with Martha the cover is amazing. can’t wait to read.

  16. Ban

    guess it would have made sense to leave a way for you to contact me !
    bansidhe19 @ yahoo . com
    bansidhesworlds.blogspot.com

  17. Maria

    I can’t wait to read this book, I’ve been waiting for it to come out for so long.
    If I don’t win I’m still going to buy it the first day it comes out!!!!

  18. Melissa

    I would love to read this!

    meldavis@ucdavis.edu

  19. Jill

    Please count me in! I can’t wait for this book.

    jillkt13(at)yahoo(dot)com

  20. sheere

    i would love to join the contest!

    sheere.dry@gmail.com

  21. Jessica

    I would LOVE to get this book! Especially a version that not many people have. I’d just sit there to figure out all the changes. 😉

    tol8toapologize[at]aim[dot]com

  22. Oh awesome, I’d love to be counted in, thanks =)

  23. this is great! i’d like to enter!

    leslie-lv at hotmail dot com

  24. whitspans

    Love your review!
    +1 tweeted the contest @whitneymiller

    Thank you!

    whitneym(at)gmail.com

  25. Audrey

    hey, does this contest include Canada? or is it just US? (if its just the States, ignore this post :0 )

    thanks for the contest, the book sounds delightful!

    mangoes_7@hotmail.com

  26. Oooh, fantastic review. Can’t wait to read this.

    loony_balooga_91[at]hotmail[dot]com

  27. I love that the book will have a different ending from the ARC. You can get two stories, and decide which you prefer.
    inbedwithbooks AT yahoo DOT com

  28. Aly

    Cool contest…I’d love to be entered.

  29. Porshia

    Ooh can’t wait! Count me in =]]

    trainwrecks.enthrall [at] googlemail [dot] com

  30. Chelsea

    I’d love love love this arc! I just found out about this book today, just finished the first 2 chapters online, and I’m seriously hooked.

    I tweeted: twitter.com/soriveting
    chel_216@hotmail.com

  31. I CANNOT WAIT to read HUSH, HUSH! Thanks for the AWESOME contest 😀

    lookaftermyheart1901@gmail.com

  32. I have posted this on my blog

    http://je11ytots.livejournal.com

    I have recently also set up a fan forum for Maggie Stiefvater, so I have also posted a link to your blog on there.

    http://maggiestiefvater.freeforums.org/posting.php?mode=post&f=24

  33. Lucy

    Awesome review and contest! I think it’s awesome that there’s gonna be a surprise ending too. 😉 I was just wondering if this contest is international? If it isn’t then please don’t enter me!

    I twittered: http://twitter.com/phantompuppies

    phantompuppies@gmail.com

  34. Ooh, so very excited about this release. Thank you for hosting the giveaway! Please enter me.

    angiegirl (at) gmail (dot) com

  35. dogearedandwellread

    Contest is over! The winner will be posted later today!