Same Difference by Siobhan Vivian

samediff

From Good Reads:

Emily is ready for a change. She’s been in the same town with the same friends for a long time…and none of them really understand her art. But when she goes to Philadelphia for a summer art institute, she suddenly finds like-minded people. One in particular, Fiona, intrigues and challenges her. But there are some things Emily is going to have to find out for herself — like what the balance is between life and art, and which is more important when push comes to shove.

I feel a little bad because I read this back in May and it has taken me this long to get around to reviewing it. And that is not because I didn’t like it – I did! I actually originally gave it three stars on Good Reads but it has stuck with me enough that I am changing that to four.

Emily is such an honest, realistic character. I loved watching her develop her art and talent over a summer, and her struggle between her old life in the suburbs with her best friend and her new life in the city with her artistic friends is relatable and true. There is a romance story, but it is not the focal point, which I really liked. I couldn’t put the book down, I was so enthralled with Emily’s journey.

4 stars

1 Comment

Filed under review, young adult lit

One response to “Same Difference by Siobhan Vivian

  1. Sounds like a really good book!! Emily sounds like a great character!! The cover’s really pretty, except the model does not look all that happy (?)

Leave a Reply

