Infinite Jest update

I have to admit, I’m not doing well with Infinite Summer. I stalled out over a month ago around page 300, and didn’t pick it up for several weeks until I was due to have drinks with a couple friends to talk about it. The day before, I jumped back in and caught up to page 526, skimming several chunks of pages. I do plan to finish it some day, but it won’t be in time for the end of Infinite Summer, and I won’t be able to do it without skimming more pages. I recognize the talent of David Foster Wallace, and I enjoy the story he has put together, but I lose patience with parts of the book. The conversations between Marathe and Steeply put me to sleep. The long descriptive parts try my patience, such as when Gately drives around Boston. Maybe I’d have more patience for these things in a shorter book, or one with less characters, but I have no desire to plow through these sections when I’d rather read more about Hal and all the addicts. I know all these sections have a purpose, and I will probably miss out on large important things by the time I get to the end, but I just can’t do it.

So, we’ll see when I finish. It’s Labor Day, and I’d rather not spend it laboring away at this book when I could be enjoying others.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

