Thankful

Instead of a review, I thought I would take some time to ponder the things I am thankful for in honor of Thanksgiving tomorrow, in no particular order:

  • my husband
  • my dogs Jake and Brinkley
  • other dogs in the world
  • my family
  • my friends
  • books
  • rain
  • my health and the health of all my loved ones
  • my home
  • my job
  • the income from my job that allows me to drive a car and feed us and keep us warm and take care of my dogs and all the other things it allows me to do
  • my eyesight and my ability to read
  • Diet Coke
  • “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” sung by just about anyone
  • sushi and seafood in general
  • bunnies
  • good TV like Friday Night Lights, Fringe, Breaking Bad, Mad Men, Lost, How I Met Your Mother, Glee, 30 Rock
  • pasta
  • goats
  • Christmas music
  • cheese
  • my bed
  • chickens
  • movies
  • potatoes
  • the Oscars
  • David Gray
  • ice
  • pajama pants
  • wine
  • the holiday season
  • fires
  • Katharine Hepburn movies
  • snow
  • Ireland
  • Disneyland
  • sweatshirts
  • cozy socks
  • freedom – freedom to make choices in particular, whether it is who to vote for, where to work (or whether to work at all), what to eat, where to go, to have or not have children
  • the hope that one day, all Americans will have the freedom to make choices like who to marry
  • the color red
  • Entertainment Weekly
  • the internet and all it brings: email, social networks, blogging, funny videos, silly animal pictures, Post Secret
  • Ben and Jerry’s Ginger Snap ice cream
  • People who work to make the world a better place with and for animals: rescue groups, pet therapy, Puppies Behind Bars and other similar organizations, assistance dogs, groups that bring dogs home from Iraq that were adopted by soldiers, veterinarians
  • my DVRs
  • opportunities for professional involvement
  • pedicures and facials
  • the students that come into the school library
  • That even though I am 34, the moment that Santa shows up at the end of the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade I always tear up
  • That 2010 is approaching and brings the hope of many exciting things, including a 2nd leg of a David Gray tour, the new book in Susan Beth Pfeffer’s moon trilogy and Carrie Ryan’s sequel to The Forest of Hands and Teeth
  • Our Christmas party, which my husband and I have been throwing for 7 years now – it’s my favorite night of the year
  • my blog readers – whoever you are!

Wow, that’s a really long list!  I feel very blessed that I have so much to be thankful for right now.  I hope everyone is able to take some time to ponder and be thankful over the next several days, and spend some time with your loved ones.  Happy Thanksgiving!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Thankful

  1. This is the best list ever! Seriously, I love it.

    I hope you and your family have a save and happy Thanksgiving holiday.

  2. That’s awesome! You make me want to write a similar list. Have a great Thanksgiving! 🙂

  3. What a great list! Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. Pingback: Thankful in 2010 | Dog-eared and Well-read

Leave a Reply

