The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han

The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han; read in July, 2009. Copy purchased by me.

Description from GoodReads:

Some summers are just destined to be pretty
Belly measures her life in summers. Everything good, everything magical happens between the months of June and August. Winters are simply a time to count the weeks until the next summer, a place away from the beach house, away from Susannah, and most importantly, away from Jeremiah and Conrad. They are the boys that Belly has known since her very first summer — they have been her brother figures, her crushes, and everything in between. But one summer, one wonderful and terrible summer, the more everything changes, the more it all ends up just the way it should have been all along.

I’m irritated at myself for letting this one fall through the cracks.  I enjoyed Jenny Han‘s The Summer I Turned Pretty although it has now been 8 months since I read it so the details are fuzzy.  I read it while on vacation in Nags Head and it was a fun beach read.  Because of the title and the cover picture, I thought it was be fluffy, but it deals with some heavy issues.  I liked the character of Belly, and I liked most of the people she is surrounded by.  I could never really get into Conrad, though, and therefore the storyline involving him was not one I really liked.  The rest of the novel, dealing with family problems and a looming tragedy that Belly is oblivious to (but the reader can see coming), drew me in.

I bought this for my school library and it circulates pretty often with the girls who enjoy realistic fiction.

I am an Amazon Associate. If you click from here to Amazon and buy something, I receive a percentage of the purchase price.

2 Comments

Filed under review, Uncategorized, young adult lit

2 responses to “The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han

  1. Pingback: Book Catch-Up | Dog-eared and Well-read

  2. Pingback: We’ll Always Have Summer by Jenny Han | Dog-eared and Well-read

Leave a Reply

