Twilight: The Graphic Novel, Vol. 1

Twilight: The Graphic Novel, Volume 1 by Stephenie Meyer, art and adaptation by Young Kim; read in March, 2010.  Copy purchased for my school library.

Description from GoodReads:

When Isabella Swan moves to the gloomy town of Forks and meets the mysterious, alluring Edward Cullen, her life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn. With his porcelain skin, golden eyes, mesmerizing voice, and supernatural gifts, Edward is both irresistible and impenetrable. Up until now, he has managed to keep his true identity hidden, but Bella is determined to uncover his dark secret…

Twilight: The Graphic Novel, Volume 1 begins where Twilight began – Bella leaving her mom, and it ends after the sparklemotion reveal.  (Disclaimer: I don’t consider myself a graphic novel expert at all. I don’t usually like them so I have no vast store of knowledge to base my opinion on.)

The illustrations, for the most part, are pretty.  I do feel like Mike, Eric, Jessica, and Angela are rendered very generic looking.  I put most of the blame for this on SMeyer as she wrote such generic characters, but if the movies can manage to make those four a bit more complex and interesting, the illustrator had a chance, as well.  There’s random use of photos – enough that I noticed but not enough that I felt like it really served a purpose, which was weird.  Edward is good-looking – prettier than RPattz but definitely more generic looking.

I feel like Bella is prettier than she’s supposed to be.  I know that Edward finds her gorgeous, and that every other Forks male falls at her feet, but SMeyer also made a big deal about how no one in Phoenix noticed Bella.  I feel like she’s supposed to be average looking and graphic novel Bella is more than average.  She often has this random drop of water (sweat?) on her temple, which I assume is supposed to show the reader that she is stressed/nervous/anxious.  Although it also migrates: it appears more under her eye when she is looking in the window of the occult bookshop, and I thought, ‘Why is the bookshop window making her cry? Was she hoping for a bigger sale than the advertised 10%?”  The droplet is there often enough that it grated on my nerves.

I also didn’t like the lettering used.  As previously stated, I don’t read a lot of graphic novels, but I am used to the font being more “comic-y/graphic novel-y.”  The font used in Twilight: The Graphic Novel looks like someone took a copy of Twilight and cut the text out and glued it on to the illustrations, giving it a “make your own storyline to fit the provided pictures” feel.  It reminded me of the comic strip that (used to?) runs in Rolling Stone – “Get Your War On.”  It uses and re-uses a few generic pictures of people and pastes in dialogue for them.  It also gives me a feeling that this is a graphic novel aimed at people who don’t read graphic novels and really just love Twilight.

I think that many Twilight fans will gobble the graphic novels up, but it won’t win over new fans.  It might get some readers to venture into more graphic novels, maybe?

I am an Amazon Associate. If you click from here to Amazon and buy something, I receive a percentage of the purchase price.

Leave a comment

Filed under graphic novel, review, young adult lit

Leave a Reply

