David Gray at Merriweather Post

Sunday night, I was fortunate to have front row seats for the David Gray/Ray Lamontagne tour.  It was an excellent evening!

We were a little late getting to Merriweather Post Pavilion so we missed the opener and the first twenty minutes of Ray’s set.  What we saw was good.  I’ve not previously listened to Ray, so the only song I knew was “Trouble,” thanks to that insurance commercial with the dog.  I fell in love with “Rock and Roll & Radio.”  Overall, he put on a great show and I was bobbing my head along with the music.  His set list, in case you are curious:

For the Summer
New York City’s Killing Me
Trouble
Let It Be Me
Beg Steal or Borrow
Repo Man
Are We Really Through
Old Before Your Time
Henry Nearly Killed Me (It’s a Shame)
Hold You In My Arms
God Willin’ & the Creek Don’t Rise
Like Rock and Roll & Radio
You Are the Best Thing
Encore:
Shelter

David Gray – great show!  Not the best I have seen, but I still loved it.  I can’t help but wonder if adjusting to the time constraints are something David and his band need to settle in to.  This was the first stop on the tour, after all, and the double billing means he cut some time off his usual set list.  One sign of this was when he did “Nemesis,” which was being stretched out in to a 15 minute gorgeous performance this past spring, but was much shorter this time.  Still an awesome song, but not what I have come to expect.

Set list:

First Chance
Fugitive
Sail Away
Now and Always
Draw the Line
The One I Love
Slow Motion
Nemesis
This Year’s Love
Jackdaw
Be Mine
Babylon

Encore:
In the Morning
Please Forgive Me

I have to admit that I had hoped this tour would be a little different from the winter and spring Draw the Line tour.  I had hoped by sharing the tour with Ray, David Gray planned to go more quiet and acoustic, reach back to some old stuff and play new songs from Foundling, which comes out today.  But this was pretty much this past spring’s Draw the Line tour, just in a shorter set.  I’m not complaining – I’ll watch David Gray do anything, and I’ll love every second of it.

Sitting in the front row was am amazing experience.  We were stage right, right in front of David’s piano.  I went with my husband, but he stayed on the lawn with our friend Meghan and I took Meghan’s younger sister Brittany with me.  Brittany had never seen Ray or David, but she loves both of them, and I think she had a great time.  I tried to take some pictures but they all came out blurry.  Brittany’s are great, and she said I could borrow some:

Singing with harmonica close at hand for “Now and Always” – love that song!

Thanks, Brittany!  I’m glad I was able to share my front row luck with a fellow fan.

David Gray says he plans to tour again next year for Foundling.  I hope I am fortunate enough to see him if he does!  Regardless of my nitpicky comments, David and his band put on an awesome show, and I really appreciate the amount of time they have taken to tour, knowing he has a wife and kids back home.  I am also grateful for the amount of music he’s been producing – 2 double cds in less than a year had to have  been a lot of work.  I pre-ordered Foundling and can’t wait for it to get here.

I am an Amazon Affiliate. If you click from here to Amazon and buy something, I receive a percentage of the purchase price.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

