The Dead-Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan

The Dead-Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan; read in February 2010.  ARC provided by Random House at ALA Midwinter.

  1. I have to admit up front that I did not like this as much as I liked The Forest of Hands and Teeth.  I think it boiled down to not liking Gabry.  Her perspective was less interesting to me, and I found her to be very self-involved and capable of making extremely dumb decisions.
  2. The differences between Mary’s life in the forest and Gabry’s life at the ocean are interesting.  I wondered if some of the differences could be related more to the passing of time since Mary was a teen, or if it was location.  For instance, the zombies are called Mudo, not the Unconsecrated.  A different type of zombie is explained; it was a mystery in the first one, but understood here, so I wondered if that was a zombie evolution over time?
  3. There is a crazy religious cult that gave me the creeps!
  4. Carrie Ryan builds this world further, and the back story explanations and developments kept me enthralled.
  5. Because of that, I will read the planned third book.  I assume it will not center on Gabry as this did not center on Mary (confirmed), so I can’t wait to see the further developments in Ms. Ryan’s zombie world.

I am an Amazon Affiliate. If you click from here to Amazon and buy something, I receive a percentage of the purchase price.

3 Comments

Filed under Fast Five View

3 responses to “The Dead-Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan

  1. I actually liked this one better than the first. I think because it was based in a more modern world. I agree that Gabry was wishy washy and I found the speed at which the relationship between she and Elias grew was far to abrupt for me. But all in all I enjoyed it a bit more.

    • dogearedandwellread

      Looking over other reviews, it seems like people prefer one over the other. I have yet to see anyone who likes both the same.

  2. Pingback: The Dark and Hollow Places by Carrie Ryan | Dog-eared and Well-read

Leave a Reply

