The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff

The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff; read in July, 2010.  ARC provided by Penguin post ALA Annual.

  1. It goes without saying – the cover is AWESOME.
  2. This is a pretty original concept.  While it is not my usual type of read, I really enjoyed it. The story of who Mackie, the main character, is and the numerous characters that cross his path are extremely unique.
  3. That being said, at times I had a hard time stretching my imagination to really picture what the author was describing.  I think this was more my fault.  Fantasy is not my thing, and this reminded me of when I read Coraline and struggled to get a mental picture.  I think readers who have better imaginations will have no problems at all.
  4. The Replacement is a great fall read – full of spookiness and scariness.  The original setting is a character of its own.
  5. Yovanoff crafted some great characters besides the setting.  I liked Mackie a lot, but I LOVED his sister and how fiercely protective she is of him.  The characters have depth; this is not a shallow novel at all.

I can’t wait to start booktalking this one next week.  I think it will appeal to a lot of my teens.

I am an Amazon Affiliate. If you click from here to Amazon and buy something, I receive a percentage of the purchase price.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fast Five View, young adult lit

Leave a Reply

