Book Catch-Up

I have watched my pile of books-read-in-2010 grow and never have the time to blog about them.  In order to be nice to myself this December, I’m doing a big ol’ book dump.  I will link to full reviews I agree with from bloggers I follow.

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins: So many other people had many things to say about the final book in The Hunger Games series, I don’t feel like I can say anything new.  It was great.  I loved the ending.  It had some slow parts; Katniss seemed to spend a lot of time recovering from various things.  But I loved it.  Liz said it all better at A Chair, A Fireplace and a Tea Cozy.

Betsy Was a Junior and Betsy and Joe by Maud Hart Lovelace: Love.  See Diary of an Eccentric for both.

The Daughters by Joanna Philbin: daughters of celebrities.  Cute, sort of like a cleaner version of Gossip Girl.  See Galleysmith for a more in-depth review.

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan: awesome.  Would not expect anything less.  See Abby the Librarian for more.

Nomansland by Lesley Hauge: Dystopian society made up of all-women.  I liked the main character more than the book as a whole.  Presenting Lenore can tell you more.

Kiss in the Dark by Lauren Henderson: third in the Kiss Me, Kill Me series, which I enjoyed.  (Kisses and Lies is the second.)  I have no memory of the plot of this book, so Bookshelves of Doom has to be right on the money.

Fallout by Ellen Hopkins (final in Crank series): Told from the viewpoint of three of Kristina’s children, I sometimes had a hard time telling the two daughters apart.  I really liked seeing the different members of the family come together despite the pain they each experienced.  Carrie’s YA Bookshelf

Cracked Up to Be by Courtney Summers: a high school girl suffers a downward spiral and no one can help her.  Loved it.  A lot.  Bildungsroman.

Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers:  what happens when the mean girls turn on one of their own.  Another great one by Ms. Summers.  Two reviews worth reading: The YA YA YAs and Pop Culture Junkie.

Adios, Nirvana by Conrad Wesselhoeft: read on Kindle through NetGalley.  I struggled with this one.  A teen struggling with life after his brother dies.  I feel like it was a decent book.  I just couldn’t get into it.  I did finish it.  You should read a different take on the book at Sarah’s Random Musings.

It’s Not Summer Without You by Jenny Han: decent follow-up to The Summer I Turned Pretty.  I did like the first book more, but I look forward to the third.  The Infinite Shelf feels the same.

Okay, that catches me up on a good chunk of the year.  I definitely have not been able to read as much this year as I have in years past.  I do still have five more that I plan to devote a whole post to on each, not counting what I am currently reading.  It will be noce to have these titles off my plate!

6 Comments

Filed under review, young adult lit

6 responses to “Book Catch-Up

  1. This is a great idea for getting the word out on books you read. I might have to think about poaching it 😉

  2. dogearedandwellread

    Thanks, Michelle! It was fun to put it together: clean out my stack, ponder the books some more, and share some link love!

  3. Pingback: We’ll Always Have Summer by Jenny Han | Dog-eared and Well-read

  4. Pingback: Kiss of Death by Lauren Henderson | Dog-eared and Well-read

  5. Pingback: Thursday Tidbits 3/22/2012 | Dog-eared and Well-read

Leave a Reply

