2010 Wrap-Up

I can’t say that I was sorry to see 2010 go, although it certainly ended better than it started.  2010 was the year we lost dear Jake, another tree fell on our house, my husband was hospitalized with chicken pox (the worst case some of his doctors had seen), and my mom had some health problems.  Friends and family members were unemployed and many remain in that state.  I overextended myself with commitments.  Work has been chaotic and stressful.

But 2010 was also the first year I felt really involved in YALSA.  It is when I really felt like a good librarian.  I enjoyed a decent chunk of time off due to the February snow.  I saw David Gray twice in concert and was able to meet him.  I enjoyed three different trips to the beach with dear friends, and witnessed a fall wedding between two people who couldn’t be more meant for each other.  My mom is doing much better.  I attended the awesome YALSA Young Adult Literature Symposium and the Rally to Restore Sanity.  We adopted Nia!

I’m not making any resolutions; I don’t believe in them.  My favorite quote I recently saw on Twitter that explains why said, “I’m going to open a place called Resolutions.  For the first two weeks of every year, it will be a gym.  For the other 50 weeks of the year, it will be a bar.”  I do hope to work on managing my time and commitments a bit better.

I do have several things to look forward to in 2011: ALA Midwinter, ALA Annual, a trip to Disneyland, possible trip to NYC with a friend (dying to see American Idiot). Most of my year remains unplanned, which is a nice feeling.  Here’s to the hope that 2011 will be a great year for all!

2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “2010 Wrap-Up

  1. I hope 2011 turns into a fantastic year for you!

Leave a Reply

