Book Catch-Up Part 2

I had grand plans to catch up on blogging over the winter break, but those plans fell through.  So, in order to start off 2011 with a clean slate, I am doing another “book catch-up.”

Grace by Elizabeth Scott: Haunting; reminiscent of Living Dead Girl with its sparse writing.  Grace has been raised to be a suicide bomber but escapes when she is sent on her mission.  Now she must try to avoid capture.  Elizabeth Scott has crafted a creepy, fascinating dystopian society that could be a county like Pakistan but could also be our own.  Greenbean Teen Queen has a great longer review.

Bright Young Things by Anna Godbersen: I loved The Luxe series so I was very excited for Ms. Godbersen’s next series which is sent in the 1920s.  The story revolves around three young women.  I liked Bright Young Things but I didn’t fall in love with it like I did with The Luxe.  I think I expected to immediately fall in love with a character like I did with The Luxe’s Diana, but none of the girls won my heart yet.  I have to admit that I found them less developed than what Ms. Godbersen was able to do with her characters in her first novel.  It was still a fun, escapist read.  I loved the setting, and will read the next book.  Librarified has similar thoughts.

(Side note: after finishing this one, I started Vixen by Jillian Larkin, another YA 1920s.  I have been struggling with it and am not sure if I will finish.  It is much less believable than BYT.)

A Brief History of Montmaray by Michelle Cooper: Despite purchasing this for our school library, I didn’t bother to read it because the cover is just so boring.  But then I saw the cover for the 2011 sequel: hello, gorgeous!  And I had to read it!  It tells the story of a royal family who “reign” over the island Montmaray.  The island is almost empty of inhabitants, though, and the castle is crumbling.  It is set in the 1930s, and eventually some Nazis show up.  Nazis are always up to no good, of course, so I was on the edge of my seat until the end.  I really loved this book.  The characters are realistic, original, and loveable.  Ms. Cooper has crafted a unique setting in Montmaray and I was sad I had to leave the island and its history at the end of the book.  Liz at Teacozy has a much longer review, and she enjoyed it, too.

The Mockingbirds by Daisy Whitney: Alex, a junior at a boarding school, realizes she must deal with her date rapist if she wants to move on.  I have read many mixed feelings about The Mockingbirds.  I loved it and couldn’t put it down, but I can see why some might find the premise a little unrealistic, or be upset with the lack of adult involvement.  I felt like in the setting Whitney created, it made sense to me.  I was hooked on the characters and the details of the plot from page one.  Abby the Librarian felt a little more reserved about it.  Galleysmith has a really interesting discussion about it but it does contain spoilers.

Leave a comment

Filed under review, young adult lit

Leave a Reply

