Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Delirium by Lauren Oliver. Published by HarperTeen. Read in December, 2010. ARC provided by HarperTeen via NetGalley.

Lauren Oliver’s new release for 2011 is set in a future where everyone has a brain operation at age 18 to prevent them from ever suffering from “delirium.”  The main sign one is suffering from delirium is being in love, but other signs would include deep emotion of
any kind and/or a desire for autonomy. Lena looks forward to having the procedure; she has seen what happened to others who succumbed to the insanity of delirium and dreads the possibility of this happening to her. She just wants to be cured and learn who she is assigned to marry. While waiting to turn 18,  Lena meets Alex, an older boy with the scar proving his surgery has taken place. In her eyes, he is safe – they won’t fall in love. So she begins to spend time with him. You know what they say about the best laid plans…

Delirium is the first in a trilogy, and I can’t wait for the next two. While the YA lit world is overloaded on dystopian lit right now, I was fascinated by this world. Definitely a great read to get swept away in.

3 Comments

Filed under review, young adult lit

3 responses to “Delirium by Lauren Oliver

  1. You had me at brain operation. Seriously, this looks really good.

  2. Great review! I loved this book too!

  3. I really loved this one. Frankly I’ve enjoyed everything Oliver has written thus far. I hear she’s dipping into MG next don’t know if I’ll pick it up or not but if I dod I suspect I might enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

