Where She Went by Gayle Forman

Where She Went by Gayle Forman. Published by Dutton Juvenile in April, 2011. Read in March, 2011. ARC provided by publisher at ALA Midwinter.

I just realized this weekend that I never blogged about Where She Went, which is a shame. I LOVED Where She Went. LOVED it. I may have had a few reservations about If I Stay, but none exist with this book.

I love Adam. I adore Adam. This book is told from his viewpoint (Mia’s boyfriend from the first book). Ms. Forman crafts a beautiful, gut-wrenching story in exploring Adam after what happened in If I Stay. He’s a famous rock star now, but fame never solves the problems some people seem to think it will, and eventually he has to deal with his past.

I don’t want to reveal more in case you have not read either book, but Where She Went is cathartic to those that read the first. I cried and cried, and the last third of the book is perfection. Just thinking about the last page of the book makes me happy.

This will definitely be in my top ten of 2011.

1 Comment

Filed under review, young adult lit

One response to “Where She Went by Gayle Forman

  1. Totally agree. If anything more intense than If I Stay. Really disliked this cover as being not a good indication of content. I work in a boys school and know many boys avoid books with a girl on the cover – continue to strive to get them over this. (And by the way, that pouty girl is wrong for the character IMHO.)

Leave a Reply

